Tis the Season

Crap. I’ve just realised the first chapter of Deadlocked is going to be coming out soon. I just don’t have the time to do all the things I want to do, dammit. I kinda wish I had the time to write a post a day. Once that chapter comes out, I’m going to be theorising on all the new stuff she’ll give us, and I’m still bogged down in fairies. Damn those fairies.  I love the depth – so much – but I find it all so difficult to get it out to people.

So the ritualised wailing has come. A synopsis was posted, and there’s a mention of Bill, which means of course Sookie’s going to get back with Bill. They’re working together, and we all know that “working” is really just a euphemism for “fucking like rabbits on their reunion”.  Jesus Fucking Christ. How many books now has this happened? One of the times, Bill was mentioned as “Sookie’s neighbour” and this was taken to mean that she was broken up with Eric, and would now be dating Bill. Then with Dead Reckoning, Sam was mentioned as “working with”, so of course, Sookie would now be dating Sam. Here’s me hoping that perhaps people won’t look for relationship decrees in the fucking blurb, and being disappointed yet again.

For those of you who haven’t read the blurb:

With Felipe de Castro, the Vampire King of Louisiana (and Arkansas and Nevada),
in town, it’s the worst possible time for a body to show up in Eric Northman’s front
yard — especially the body of a woman whose blood he just drank.

Now, it’s up to Sookie and Bill, the official Area Five investigator, to solve the murder.
Sookie thinks that, at least this time, the dead girl’s fate has nothing to do with her.
But she is wrong. She has an enemy, one far more devious than she would ever
suspect, who’s out to make Sookie’s world come crashing down.
Source

Now, of course, there’s all kind of outrage over the fact the bit “body of a woman whose blood he just drank”. Ha. It always gives me a sardonic giggle when people in one breath say “SOOKIE NEEDS TO ACCEPT ERIC’S A VAMPIRE! SHE’S SUCH A BITCH! LET HIM BITE YOU, EVEN IF IT HURTS” and yet when a blurb comes out with Eric drinking someone’s blood, it’s a hootananny of fucking wailing about Eric’s ability to be faithful and accepting that he’s a vampire who bites people other than Sookie.

Meanwhile, as I’ve pointed out, Eric didn’t bite her all the way through DITF or in DR until the end, making him the most amazing vampire who ever lived – feeding off Sookie through osmosis or dried skin cells in the air. I can’t wait for the next decree which is “Eric is out of character – he feeds only on Sookie. CH has lost it!” when this is wishful fanfiction and batshit crazy fan ideas.

I’m predicting that there’s going to be – of course – a lot of new ground to cover with Eric and Sookie, and that Felipe will have some sort of scheme going. My money is not on Freyda being an enemy – it’s on someone else Sookie’s not even thinking about. I have a feeling – and it’s only a feeling – that it’s going to be Fellowship of the Sun leader Steve Newlin. The Fellowship stuff needs to be tied up in a satisfactory manner, so it’s coming. With Small Town Wedding, we got rid of Sarah Newlin – and hubby is just as bad. Sookie does have this:

Humans who are born with the essential spark are born to experience
or perform something wonderful, something amazing.

Dead Reckoning, p. 312

Since said spark is not sexually transmissible, then Eric isn’t destined to do jack. But Sookie is. And I reckon it’s going to be something way more relevant than who Eric Northman dicks of a night time. My money is on cutting off the head of the FotS snake – taking its power away. She’s already got Sarah, so I’m just waiting for Steve. I’d kinda love the juxtaposition of Sookie the tolerant, stopping the intolerant Newlins. One down…:D

Of course, we also have this:

She gets kidnapped – you know, the usual mayhem. She gets kidnapped,
she has to get out of it. The Fey entry into her life is pretty much wrapped
up. She learns a lot more about everything really.
She learns a lot in this book, the truth.
Source

So we know that some of the stuff on fairies is going to be relevant. And I don’t think that all of the things she’s going to learn will be tied to Eric. I like the fact that unlike fanfic, CH sticks to her original vision of Sookie having to get out of being kidnapped. After all, she saved herself from Rene in DUD, the Fellowship in LDID, Russell’s mansion in CD, Debbie Pelt in DTTW, Charles Twining in DAAD, Sandra Pelt in DD, Rhodes in ATD. Eric played a part, it can’t be denied, but the bond was not active in that part, and Eric wasn’t the main actor. I do so wish people would stop freaking out about it needing to be back. It’s a hassle, pure and simple.

So, rather than posting it up the top of the page, I relied on those of you who actually read what I write. I know the temptation to click buttons and do quizzes. I love clicking little boxes. 😀 But I didn’t want love of box clicking to skew my results. It’s not a solution, but it’s better than nothing. Basically, I have limited time before Christmas to cover what I want to cover. My 15 year old son is doing most of the cooking (yay! I love having kids old enough to do stuff and moreover, want to do stuff I find a hassle) but I still have to do all the other mother crap. Shopping, for one. God I hate shopping.

So I’m going to give you some general topic areas and some specific posts in the works, to see where my focus should go. That way we can cover stuff, and you guys can help me choose. I’ll probably get around to it all eventually, but at the moment, there’s limited time. So if you have burning questions you want answered before the synopsis, ask them now. Last time, I had a post about Bill in the works before the new book release…and that ended up happening in August of the next year. Also, bear in mind, if you click the buttons like a mad thing, and just choose I WANT ALL OF THOSE then, you may not get the one you really want soon. I’m also hiding the poll result – to make it a more genuine choosing of what you want to read. If it’s not explanatory enough, ask me a question about what the post would be about, and then *wait* to vote.

NOTE TO WORDPRESS READERS, IF YOU WANT TO VOTE, OR ASK A SPECIFIC QUESTION, YOU HAVE TO GO TO LJ.

