Offerings Often Obstructed

Let’s see if I can keep the alliteration going here. 😀 This one is a mistaken belief that Sookie both refuses gifts, and that she ties it all up with being a whore. What’s pretty hilarious about this one – at least for me – is that every single person who complains about this also complains that Sookie transposes Bill onto Eric. Ah, reflections in thy waters honey. Read onwards to see why I find that one particularly funny. Nothing could be further from the truth. But I’ll do one better than that, and prove it, with quotes – so excuse this quote heavy post – but this one is just too pervasive and I’m sick of reading it.

Let’s have a look at the times Sookie refuses a “gift” and all the times she accepts a gift from Eric, just to prove that I know what I’m talking about. I haven’t included any gifts she’s gotten from Alcide, Sam and Pam – all of which she’s accepted without trouble, because this scenario only ever turns up in secret-Bill fangirl fic. This is the infamous scene where readers get angry at Sookie for not wanting to be seen around Bon Temps as Bill’s whore. I would question whether this is in fact a “gift” – it doesn’t even have the thoughtfulness of money in card:

“Why can’t you just send me some damn flowers, like anyone else’s boyfriend?
Or some candy. I like candy. Just buy me a Hallmark card, why don’t you?
Or a kitten or a scarf?
“I meant to give you something,” he said cautiously.
“You’ve made me feel like a kept woman. And you’ve certainly given the people
who work at those businesses the impression I am.”
Living Dead in Dallas, p. 28

Continue reading